Book Review

“The Warbler Guide” by Tom Stephenson and Scott Whittle

“I’ve been quite impressed with the thoroughly detailed “The Warbler Guide” by authors Tom Stephenson and Scott Whittle. With over 550 pages and over 1000 color photographs, graphs and a plethora of information in sonograms. This guide covers all about US and Canada warblers practically from “head to tail”j9968 If identification of warblers was a bit confusing before with this guide will be the end of that!. Every one of the 56 warblers are depicted at different angles in vivid color separately and in comparison grid to get every little difference between them. I believe that showing the tail shape and under-tail plumage a smart idea because it helps for a positive identification even if you don’t get the total picture of the warbler. I’ll keep this guide close to me and make my warbler identification a lot more simple.”

This review was written by H.J. Ruiz – Avian 101- June 26th, 2013.

Note: Click Here to view author videos

10 thoughts on “Book Review

  1. Even with so many types of warblers, I don’t know if I’ve ever seen/photographed a warbler as yet. As I go through some photos from last couple years on birds that need to be ID’d, maybe I’ll find one. 🙂 Thanks for your book reviews, HJ, I still like going through my bird books to ID first, then to fellow birders, then internet if necessary. I don’t know, maybe because I love books! 🙂 (adding this one to my list to buy!)

    • This book is a guide to help identify warblers, it’s a great tool for birders, photographers or persons with interest of knowing birds. Thanks Becky! 🙂

    • I think that you’d be very interested to interpret the sonograms of bird calls and song. This guide has plenty of that. besides, you live in Illinois where you can find a lot of warblers. 🙂

      • Yeah, I need to rearrange my mind to sonograms, I know. I still have to finish reading Don Kroodma’s book with all the sonograms and bird songs. One more for the shelf or the bedside table… 🙂

  2. Pingback: Review Roundup: June, 2013

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.