What’s Up?

Lately…

  • One morning I opened the door leading to the patio, I was bringing the morning seeds for the feeders, when I saw something move behind the hose box. It was a fawn that as soon as it saw me, yelled scared and quickly took off running. I called Lucy and Tyler and I showed where he was hiding blending with the brush they got to see it! It couldn’t be older than two weeks!
  • I’ve been having problems with a cat that is making my backyard as a diner place.
  • I’ve seen a Cooper’s Hawk several times in my backyard.
  • While I was trimming the shrubs in my front porch I saw a Cooper’s Hawk being chased by three Red-winged Blackbirds. For some reason they were really mad and the hawk was being pecked by the blackbirds.
  • Of course, it was Father’s Day and Tyler had a beautiful card for me, he wrote

    “Dad I love you to the moon and back”... Your son, Tyler.

  • My son Tyler is on Summer vacation from School and it’s having a ball! Almost daily, he’s activities with friends and sports. Today (Monday) he started early in the morning for a Youth Camp to do many activities, sports etc. He was ready for action.!
  • I saw my first Ruby-throated  Hummingbird but I haven’t photographed it yet.

Photo Gallery


Plus…


© HJ Ruiz – Avian101

11 thoughts on “What’s Up?

  1. I see many hawks and falcons near my house, and they are often attacked by smaller birds. I’ve even seen a hawk flipped upside down from the violence of the small bird’s attacks. I suppose the smaller birds are defending their territories from these predators. They really go crazy if a hawk or falcon kills a rabbit, swooping down and striking the raptor as it is trying to eat its victim. I wish I had your photography skills so I could capture the scene.

    • That’s what happens on a daily basis, Hawks and Crows are constantly raiding nests and attacking birds, they are constant victims. They have learned to defend themselves as a group. I’ve seen those situations many times. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences. 🙂

  2. Great post! Such a terrific son and your post reads like a lot of my conversations with my husband! I get the fascinating bird reports all the time. I am always amazed at how he can look at a huge flock and estimate how many are there! He can also make a strange whooshing bird call that brings them in closer.

Leave a Reply

