What’s Up?

“the birds”


Now we are very close to Spring, not by looking to the calendar but just looking at the birds, I see more birds and the variety has increased too.

I’ll tell you what happened last Friday morning, Lucy (my wife) was out walking with our friend Bonnie (neighbor) like they do every morning. I was in my office  at the computer doing some work, it was fairly cool outside but sunny at the time. My office has a large window (3 panes) with blinds open just enough to get the room illuminated, since I use the computer and hate light reflection on the screen. Suddenly, it just got dark and a familiar sound could be heard outside. It took me less than a second to realize what it was and ran downstairs to go outside but bumped into Lucy at the door, she was panting to catch her breath because she had ran home  to tell me about a gigantic (her words) flock of blackbirds going around… and our friend Bonnie got scared by it, she had never seen that before, also mentioned it was scary like the Alfred Hitchcock’s movie “The Birds”. 🙂

Meanwhile, the birds took off flying all together in just seconds! I had no chance to take pictures or anything. That’s alright… maybe next year.

I remember, a few years ago something similar happened this same location, also a large flock showed up! The difference was I had my camera ready at the time and I was able to get some interesting shots.


Photo Gallery


© HJ Ruiz – Avian101

17 thoughts on “What’s Up?

  1. Whenever I see a huge cloud of blackbirds, I am elated by the numbers and the beauty of this spectacle in the sky. We are lucky to have the huge numbers still on the planet. I imagine it was something like seeing the passenger pigeons long ago. Great post, HJ.

    • If the photographer doesn’t have the camera ready to shoot it becomes impossible to run for a camera and set-up to shoot. The event It’s usually over in seconds. When I read the book about the passenger pigeons it was one of the saddest books I’ve read. Thank you my friend. 🙂

  2. Whoa, that WOULD be scary, especially for those of us who remember that Hitchcock film – yikes! Interesting that it has happened before, too. . . . . Your Gallery of friends is just an absolute delight, HJ, as always!

    • I’m sure you would have enjoyed it!…right after you realize it posed no danger. My little friends are loyal to me! Thank you Carol for sharing! 🙂

  3. Seems like you would have to do a 24-hour sit to maybe catch a flock of moving birds! Good luck! Love the House Finch. Had one singing his heart out this morning on my way to the train. This could be a record for February, up here anyway. I’m thinking maybe he got tired of hearing the cardinals who have been singing for weeks now… 🙂

    • I think we are over the frigid winter and diving into spring mode now. I see more variety of birds now and …they are hungry! The feeders empty very quickly! Thank you Lisa! 🙂

    • Many people has not seen a large flock at close proximity. I understand totally. That’s our neighbor’s case, she got scared. Thank you for sharing Tiny! 🙂

Leave a Reply

