What’s Up?

An al fresco luncheon

I had an unusual visitor last week, I wasn’t really prepared to do any photo shooting because the weather did not offer any comfort or any good conditions to get a good set of pictures. This post it’s more about the content conveyed from storyline rather than quality of images. I hope that you understand what I’m trying to say.

There’s now doubt about me being happy!  Not every day I see a Red-shouldered Hawk perched on a fence at the side of the creek. I did not care much about the conditions mentioned above and grabbed my camera and shot a series of photos …camera handheld. I selected some shots to show the sequence of event. Apparently the hawk was stalking waiting to catch what it might be a field mouse. After waiting patiently, the critical moment came and the raptor landed on the prey!

“Pretty cool stuff!…  Vernacular describes this natural event.”


Photo Gallery


© HJ Ruiz – Avian101

14 thoughts on “What’s Up?

  1. Fantastic action series!! It’s always a pleasure to see the RSH, isn’t it, HJ? They have that way of looking down, we find them often on telephone wires. And then to have the fortune to see him swooping and hunting, and able to fire off some shots–whoa…fantastic.!

    • It must embedded in our genes the “hunt” that captivates and in our minds find an instant balance between hunter and prey. Think about it! It’s fascinating how much influence we carry from our remote ancestors. Thank you my friend. 🙂

    • Of course Susan! However, the images are perceived by me as a human witnessing a natural struggle, as well as a photographer that has to shoot the pictures! Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

