What’s Up?

Winter Weather

Last Saturday we woke up to an icy morning. The Meteorologists predicted snow for our area for Saturday early morning, perhaps with accumulations enough to become a hazard for our town.

Past midnight, we heard the sound of sleet hitting the roof and the outside things, the temperature was indeed cold! I remember telling Lucy that if the temperature drops even more we will not get snow but a worse alternative: Ice! Tyler was so excited about getting snow ( It would be a second time for him to see snow).

Tyler was telling me about making a snow man in the front of the house. He wore a knitted hat that we bought as a souvenir from our trip to Peru last year. It was time to go to bed and he still had the hat on!

When I woke up Saturday morning, the first thing I did was look out the window, it was white alright, I went to Tyler’s room and woke him up to show him the outside from his window. He was sleepy but excited too! After a while we all prepared with our coats, hats, etc. and headed outside…We screeched to a halt! (Not literally).

The white stuff on the floor and all over was accumulation of sleet covered with thick ice! We were totally disappointed!

There was a silver lining to these debacle though, I decided to sit and wait until birds would come to the feeders…they did! I was happy to wait with my camera ready and shot some pictures for you! As they say:

“If they give you lemons, make lemonade!”



© HJ Ruiz – Avian101

19 thoughts on “What’s Up?

    • There’s no Schools open on Monday or today! Some roads are still icy and dangerous for the school bus. Thank you Susan! 🙂

  1. Fabulous shots. I think I’d be as excited as Tyler.
    Haven’t seen snow for about 30 years (when I was last up in our state’s snowfields to ski for the week).

    • Thank you Vicki! For Tyler it would be his 2nd time. I don’t miss the snow ay all! For most of my life I lived in New Jersey where we got snow in large quantities! 🙂

  2. Your lemonade was delicious, H.J. 🙂 And I think the first time Tyler saw snow was the same time my grandkids (in Jacksonville) saw their first snow…nothing since. Glad you stayed inside and were safe.

    • Thanks Tiny! Tyler didn’t find snow that morning but ice and got all bundled up, with parka, winter hat, gloves and even scarf. Went out to the driveway covered with ice and then a minute later slipped and fell on his butt! That was the end of his icy adventure! 🙂

  3. Glad the birds came around, they know where they can always count on a special buffet! It’s still early Winter, maybe later we might get a snowy day!

Leave a Reply

