What’s Up?

My backyard is being visited by groups of Brown-headed Cowbirds lately. These species are gregarious, traveling always in groups, whether of the same kind or other birds such as Starlings, Red-wings Blackbirds, Blue Jays, Grackles, etc. This time when I had a photo shooting session, all the birds were Cowbirds. It’s the time of the year when they begin flying to their migration South.

Of course, the smaller groups drop by to get some seeds in urban areas, the larger groups go to the crop fields, there they can do plenty damage. In my case they just finish all the seeds from my feeders and leave the place in a sad mess. It happens every year so I’m used to it.

My photo session went fine, in fact much better that I anticipated, since there were no fights, broken dishes nor water spills. I was quite satisfied with the photo outcome too.


Photo Gallery


© HJ Ruiz – Avian101

13 thoughts on “What’s Up?

  1. Great shots and very informative, H.J. I can add one true ‘story’: a couple of them had made their nest in one of the tall palms flanking our driveway and every time I went out with Dylan they would attack me…that lasted for about a month🙂

    • Most birds are pacific, except when they feel threaten for their own safety or their brood. I’ve seen birds acting very aggressively under those conditions. Thank you for sharing my friend!🙂

Leave a Reply

