What’s Up?

After a week without rain, suddenly we had torrential rain for one whole day. It rained buckets! After that rain, we turned to cooler mornings (50ºs) and warm in the afternoon plus evenings. It’s a little more comfortable now.

I’m having problems with a cat that is making a restaurant out of my backyard. He’s catching birds more often and it bothers me a great deal. I love cats but I’ll not allow them to feast on my birds, this cat is not a feral feline but someone’s cat.


I’m so glad to see the Ruby-throated Hummingbirds still here in my backyard compared to previous years. They used to be gone, days before the end of  summer. I enjoy these little birds very much!


Among the birds that stay during winter time are the Brown-headed Nuthatch. Strong little birds, full of energy and well organized to have provisions stored and enough for the coming colder weather of winter. I’ve seen them around for the past 11 years!


Groups of Brown-headed Cowbirds have been landing on my deck and raiding my feeders. I’m sure they are on the move to fly south and have begun their migration. They look for places where to eat and replenish their energy while flying to their destination.


© HJ Ruiz – Avian101

15 thoughts on “What’s Up?

  1. I’m sorry about the cat, HJ, it would upset me too. I agree with Sherry, above, and hope you get it worked out. Beautiful photos, espec. like the gorgeous nuthatch.

Leave a Reply

