What’s Up?

Sandy Key Salt Marsh

The days we (my family and I) were in Clearwater, the weather temperature was high and happened that tit had not rained for about a week. The salt marsh water levels were low and many parts of the area were merely mud left over. Luckily there was a large area with enough water to sustain fish and aquatic life. Bird count was low mostly because of the high temperature. I was very aware of the weather conditions but I have learned from my backyard experience that local birds usually seldom abandon their territory, instead they look for shelter and limit their activities in order to avoid exhaustion or waste their energy.

I walked around looking for birds. Little by little, I found them here and there.

Our plan was to meet my good friend Tiny at the marsh at 10:00 in the morning. I decided to be at the salt marsh much earlier to scout the area, this gave me an extra time to shoot more pictures.

With the company of Tiny we also walked around the marsh for a shooting session, it was fun to do while we conversed about many subjects. Quality time with a good friend!


Photo Gallery

The next series of pictures were shot before I met Tiny. I don’t know which of the ospreys is this one. I shot the photos from distance, I thought the nest was already abandoned.

“The Mayor” of the salt marsh greeted us graciously too!

Great Blue Heron " The Mayor"

Great Blue Heron ” The Mayor”


© HJ Ruiz – Avian101

11 thoughts on “What’s Up?

  1. Great fun to see Tiny’s salt marsh here on your post, HJ, and to see you and your family on Tiny’s post. I love that we’re all familiar now with the mayor. makes me laugh.

    • It’s just like a loving great family Jet! We’ll give blogging another meaning. I’m glad that you had fun! Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

