What’s Up?

Hello my friends! I’m back from my vacation to Florida in company of my wife Lucy and son Tyler. In very few words I can say: We had a wonderful time!

My first stop in Florida was Clearwater, we went to visit our good friend Tiny. She’s the sweetest person in the world and we love her. We had a great photo shooting at the Sand Key salt marsh and of course we conversed about cameras and Photography in general and as much we did about birds.

We continued our trip, driving toward Sarasota where we met my cousin that lives there. After we visited my cousin we went to several other places known for excellent beaches and enjoyed the ocean as well as the white sands of Florida. The Florida sun is the best for a deep tan. However, all wasn’t just beach enjoyment, I had to work with the camera! My good fortune allowed me to make a productive list of 22 different species!

  1. Black Skimmer
  2. Snowy Egret
  3. Great Blue Heron
  4. Tricolored Heron
  5. Roseate Spoonbill
  6. Reddish Egret
  7. American Ibis
  8. Osprey
  9. Boat-tailed
  10. Mottled Duck
  11. Great Egret
  12. Laughing Gull
  13. Common Gallinule
  14. Swallowtail Kite * New lifer
  15. Loggerhead Shrike* New lifer
  16. Little Blue Heron
  17. Glossy Iris
  18. Red-winger Blackbird
  19. Limpkin
  20. Anhinga
  21. Turkey Vulture
  22. Neotropic Cormorant

The coming days I will be posting about the new lifers and the rest of the birds from the list. I’m completely satisfied with my vacation with my family and the photos I shot all throughout the trip. Thank you to all my friends for your support and loyalty to my blog.


© HJ Ruiz

25 thoughts on “What’s Up?

  1. In my very crowded neighborhood, I can only envy you and your sightings. I’m seeing very little in the way of wildlife around here – sad. (The only thing running wild is the human population!)

    • You’re missing a lot my friend! Take some breaks from the cities and go to the country areas. Thanks for sharing G.! 🙂

  2. Welcome back with your wonderful birds HJ! I’m happy that you enjoyed your Florida holiday! Also very nice to meet your family + Tiny…..

  3. Thank you so much for stopping by here H.J., Lucy and Tyler! It was wonderful to see you all again ❤ Thanks for the great lunch and for bringing in the rains 🙂 The salt marsh is brimming with water and birds again!

  4. How exciting 22 birds, and two new lifers added to the list! My Mom doesn’t live too far from Clearwater, and since she retired and moved there several years ago I’ve still not gone to visit, and she keeps telling me there are amazing birds there that I’d love. FL has long been on my list of places to go birding. I’m hoping to remedy that this year.

    Looking forward to seeing your images soon!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.