Look Outside my Window!

Seems like our weather is beginning to cooperate by giving us full days of delicious warm temperatures. I was out doing some trimming of high grasses and the whole exercise felt very good. I still have some vestiges of a nasty cold and cough.


Welcome my friends, let’s enjoy the view from my window. Look at the svelte Northern Mockingbird on the deck’s handrail, he looks so strong and alert, quite an athlete considering all the brilliant skills he has.L-182

Perched on a branch is a female Brown-headed Cowbird, she is part of a small group of that species. She’s waiting and getting ready to go to the feeder.L-183

The male Red-winged Blackbird on top of that bird house is enjoying the rain water from that red bowl. These species are frequent visitors at the moment. Great looking birds with a gorgeous plumage.L-184

Look up top-right, that’s a male House Finch, he’s got a bright red plumage of an adult. He seems to be strong and healthy, most likely head of a new family. Nice bird.L-185

Hey! Look who’s here! An adult European Starling (yellow bill) looking perfectly groomed and fully adorned with a multicolored plumage. Is he looking for a mate in my backyard?L-186


© HJ Ruiz – Avian101

13 thoughts on “Look Outside my Window!

  1. thanks for the view. I just adore the song of the red-winged blackbirds, always reminds me of being around the lakes fishing as a kid. thank you for giving me a great memory this am! hope you’re feeling better. momentummikey 🙂

Leave a Reply

