Look Outside my Window!

It’s so nice of you my friends, coming to look outside my window, I appreciate your company very much. We are going through a crazy up and down with our weather temperatures as well as rain and frost. As uncomfortable as it may be to us, just imagine how this might be affecting birds. Right now we have a short break and rain has subsided. Look to your right, see that beautiful female Northern Cardinal? She is part of a group of cardinal families that nest in my backyard, her mate must be somewhere near by.L-095

This elegant and strong male Northern Cardinal is the mate I have mentioned previously on this post. Cardinals have a gorgeous plumage and extraordinary presence, both male  or female. Their colors are complimented and naturally enhanced by the greenish backgrounds or earth colors. I haven’t met one person that doesn’t like the cardinals!L-096

Look to the left! Quick! That’s my new friend, the Red-bellied Woodpecker, what a combination of colors and strong looking bird. He’s in optimum shape.  I wish to see him more often.L-097

With all the rain, wind, hot, cold etc. You can easily infer that my feeding apparatus are also being affected. The bird feed is continuously being spilled, getting wet, feeders falling and getting frosted. I keep track of my feed stock and consumption is up by 50%! Even when I’ve been drying out soggy seeds and refilling feeders, the loss has increased by reasons of bad weather conditions. Hey! Look who’s there to help me out cleaning the deck floor!  A Carolina Wren is better than a “hoover”, because it sings for you and makes things feel better! Good boy!L-098


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

13 thoughts on “Look Outside my Window!

    • I’m just trying to minimize the waste of seeds. Drying the wet seeds seem to be working for now. After such terrible storms we had, we have temperatures in the 70º’s with high humidity. People are turning their AC systems on again! Thanks Lisa! 🙂

Leave a Reply

