My Backyard Visitors

Several times I’ve been asked this question:

– How many species of birds have you photographed in your backyard?

I understand the curiosity, I hear this question made quite often by my friends from the Web and from my neighbors. The other day I decided to have the exact number so I checked my lists and got the count. These birds have been photographed by me, I have seen several species that I did not have the opportunity to photograph, those I never count, not even for my “lifer” list.

VISITORS = 49              ALL TIME LIST = 205

  1. Eastern Bluebird
  2. Northern Cardinal
  3. Brown-headed Cowbird
  4. Eastern Towhee
  5. Mourning Dove
  6. Carolina Chickadee
  7. Northern Mockingbird
  8. House Finch
  9. Dark-eyed Junco
  10. European Starling
  11. Red-headed Woodpecker
  12. Brown Thrasher
  13. Red-winged Blackbird
  14. American Crow
  15. Blue grosbeak
  16. Brown-headed Nuthatch
  17. American Goldfinch
  18. Chipping Sparrow
  19. Song Sparrow
  20. White-throated Sparrow
  21. Field Sparrow
  22. Orchard Oriole
  23. Carolina Wren
  24. Cooper’s Hawk
  25. Red-shoudered Hawk
  26. Indigo Bunting
  27. Green Heron
  28. Eastern Phoebe
  29. Tufted Titmouse
  30. Blue-headed Vireo
  31. Common Grackle
  32. Blue Jay
  33. Northern Flicker
  34. Turkey Vulture
  35. American Robin
  36. White-crowned Sparrow
  37. Eastern Kingbird
  38. Canada Goose
  39. Red-bellied Woodpecker
  40. Red-crested Cardinal
  41. Downy Woodpecker
  42. Ruby-throated Hummingbird
  43. Gray Catbird
  44. Black-crested Titmouse
  45. Pine Warbler
  46. Savannah Sparrow
  47. White-breated Nuthatch
  48. Pine Siskin
  49. Blue Gray Gnatcatcher

Photo Gallery


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

29 thoughts on “My Backyard Visitors

    • The creek at the end of my backyard has a stream that ends at about 1/4 mile creating a small marshy pond, not accessible but I know that sometimes birds go there, one day the Green Heron stop by my backyard just by curiosity I guess. Thank you Lori! 🙂

    • Both, some I know their ID already but some other I do the research after I have the photo in front of me. As a photographer for birds, you have to shoot first and ask questions later. Thanks MD! Have a Happy Halloween! 🎃

  1. Wow! That is a great list, living in a city has its draw backs reducing specie numbers, I am happy if I see seven different species in our small courtyard backyard in a year. However,the Rainbow Lorikeet and the Grey Butcherbird friends make up for it all. I love hearing the calls of the birds in the early morning even if they do not make it to the birdbath in the back yard. You have done well to show-case your beautiful selection of birds throughout the year, it has been most appreciated Avian:-)

    • Excellent questions RH! I’ll be working on the #50 but the rarest for me was the Red-crested Cardinal which are not from this area or any of the mainland USA but most likely was an escapee from a bird private collection according to Audubon Soc. Thanks! 🙂

  2. An impressive list, and still more out there! A bird would only have to fly overhead and I’d claim it for a spot on my master list, if I had one. You show remarkable restraint not to add the fast ones to your lifer list. Well, that was my first thought, but then I looked up ‘Lifer List’ on Google. And now I understand. Your photographs help you be certain you are adding the right bird. Well done, HJ.

    • Right from the start when I began bird photography, I read about birding and people involved with making lists of birds they have seen. I went to many places where you could see many species but how do you verify what you’ve seen? Then I decided to count on my list only birds that I have photographed. My list has 205 birds that I have photo records of them. Thank you Christine! 🙂

      • There are many variations in the same birds, differences in plumage from juvenile, male and female. With your photos to back you up, you’ll get into the 600 club no questions asked. A third of the way there! Thanks for sharing HJ.

Leave a Reply

