Autumn Shedding

With the drop of hot temperature to a bearable one, it has been a great improvement for humans as well as for birds. Suddenly I have larger amounts of birds looking for food and hang out in the backyard all day because it’s not too hot and they do not shelter themselves if they could be flying around and also foraging for insects.

One of the species that I’ve seen again after they left are the Brown-headed Cowbirds. It’s very noticeable that they are almost at the end of the molting process and they are displaying their new plumage.

I think that Autumn is going to start manifesting very soon. Last week I was very busy in my backyard trimming bushes, grasses, pruning some branches from trees and I did notice that some of the trees were shedding leaves already and others have changed their colors slightly.

Autumn is my favorite season! Ahhh!


Photo Gallery


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

21 thoughts on “Autumn Shedding

    • I don’t know what’s going on! WP is running weird lately. My stats don’t look right either. Thank you Julie for sharing! Enjoy it too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

