Look Outside my Window!

It’s hard to skip writing about the Blue Jays now because they are feeling very comfortable in my backyard. Their coming to the feeders and hanging out has become a daily thing. These birds are so good-looking that I can not dismiss them from my reports. They add a bit more color to the neighborhood!L-036

These group of European Starlings that I’ve named the “Jersey Boys” for the simple reason that any time I see them  are in a group and their bills wide open to sing their calls. They come and go several times a day and they’re always making sure that everybody pay attention!L-037

My tiny little friends Ruby-throated Hummingbirds show up whenever there’s a break on the weather temperatures or some clouds block the direct sun rays and gets cooler. I’ve seen them drinking nectar late, at dusk, when it cools down but this is dark for me to shoot any good pictures. I love their visits even when they are short.L-038

Note: This big fellow came to get some seeds, the first time that I see a Groundhog in my backyard! He looks well fed and healthy!L-039


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

18 thoughts on “Look Outside my Window!

    • First time I saw this one in my backyard. But I’ve seen these groundhogs many times before in other places. Thanks Susan 🙂

  1. I find sooo difficult to make photos of birds whilst flying. All your photos are very beautiful but I find the one of the Ruby-throated Hummingbird such a great photo. You are such a very good photographer. Thank you for sharing with us. Adrián

Leave a Reply

