Look Outside my Window!

Now that you are looking outside my window, see on the left side of near the deck there’s a nectar feeding bottle and… Hey! I can see a Ruby-throated Hummingbird drinking nectar… it’s a female. Notice the white throat with absence of red feathers, also note the length of the tail feathers, these are indications of being a female. If you’d have the opportunity to see a female next to a male you would clearly see that the female is larger than the male. Aren’t they lovely birds?L-024

My little friends of the gray suit aka Carolina Chickadee are always there to cheer me up. Even the gloomiest day they act in a cheerfully energetic way which is good to make you feel in good spirits! I’m always pleased by their being so cool, under any circumstances. They are some of the local species that nest and roost in my backyard.L-025

My backyard is going through a proliferation of Brown-headed Cowbirds and Mourning Doves lately, I theorize those birds have an advantage over other species since I observed they can tolerate  high weather temperatures and stay out in the open air for longer periods of time, while other birds are limited to a few minutes at a time. Cowbirds and Doves whether male or female are voracious eaters as well as easy to get into fights with their own companions for rights to “own the feeder for themselves”…You get the picture!L-026

Bonus: This time I’ll introduce you to Mr. Chipmunk aka. “Cheeks” He is all over the place acting like a vacuum cleaner! Picks up every seed he sees out on the floor or ground.L-027


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

24 thoughts on “Look Outside my Window!

    • One day I’ll find his loot hiding place, he must have tons of seeds! I don’t mind any of the wood’s creatures. Thanks Susan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

