Summer Bummer!

We are going through the lazy hot days of Summer in Georgia. There’s a low amount of birds coming to the feeders lately, it’s too darned hot!. Most birds are just waiting for the sun to go low in the horizon, that’s when is a lot safer to go to the feeders, since the temperature as I write this post is as follows:

Temperature = 91º F

Feels like (humidity factor) = 106º F

Humidity = 66%

UV index = 5

It’s not easy for anyone to be outdoors or being exposed to the bleaching sun.

I haven’t finished mowing my lawn because of the unbearable heat, it’s tiring and takes all the energy out of you. Poor little birds, they try to do what they can and get over the peak hours for the hottest  temperatures!

I keep myself hydrated and indoors as much as possible. Most homes here are built with  central AC which it helps a great deal! I set the thermostat at a comfortable temperature, this makes things turnout better for us at home this includes our cats and many plants. Unfortunately the birds would have to look for shelter in my backyard’s trees.


Photo Gallery


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

24 thoughts on “Summer Bummer!

  1. In our summer we have many days between 32 and 36 C, and very humid, I guess it is what you are used to becoming acclimatized to, especially after such a cold winter that you had. UP north in Broome the temperature is 32 to 35C almost every day of the year, but the heat is more dry, which is more bearable.

    • I always read about the extreme temperatures in parts of Australia, the humidity factor is very critical of how the heat affect us! One time I was in the Badlands (South Dakota) in the open field and the temperature showed 120º F at noon! But there was no humidity. However you could get dehydrated easily without knowing it! Thanks for sharing Ashley! 🙂

  2. I hate hot weather too but how do you avoid it in the south? I think it’s the humidity that really does us in. Hope you get a break soon. Delightful photos! 🙂

    • I don’t hate it but I was thinking of the birds mainly, I just have to cope with it like I always do! Thanks Lisa! 🙂

      • I think the birds know how to cope (trees for shade, baths) and you also help them out by providing food so they don’t have to work so hard to find it! 🙂

    • Oh yes, things have to be done, just do them but in a smart way, so the heat will not be a problem. Thanks Jet! 🙂

  3. I have also observed that there is much less bird activity at peak hours now. Even the Osprey dad went fishing only after 8 pm yesterday…I trust your birds find shelter in your backyard trees until dinner time in your restaurant 🙂

  4. I often complain about the long, cold winters here in the north but I could not take the hot, humid summers of the south! Our “high” is 65 today and it is pouring rain. The birds coming to my feeders today are soaked! Hope you are having a cooler day today, H.J!

    • Yes, it is a bit cooler but only a few degrees less. Still hot and steamy after last night’s rain. Thanks for sharing Amy! 🙂

    • This morning we were at 70º with 85% humidity, yesterday we had a very hot day. Keep yourself cool Deborah! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

