Common Grackle

Some of the species of birds that visit my backyard come in small flocks or groups. On of them being the Common Grackles.

The male, is larger than the female. Adults have a long, dark bill, pale yellowish eyes and a long tail; its feathers appear black with purple, green or blue iridescence on the head, and primarily bronze sheen in the body plumage. The adult female, beyond being smaller, is usually less iridescent; her tail in particular is shorter, and unlike the males, does not keel (display a longitudinal ridge) in flight and is brown with no purple or blue gloss. The juvenile is brown with dark brown eyes.

They may have a mean or sinister gaze but they are beautiful birds just like others that fly around in the wilderness. They just happen to be a bit too large for the average feeders.

I have fun watching them trying to adapt in the smaller bird’s domain.


Photo Gallery


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

14 thoughts on “Common Grackle

  1. they also dive-bomb me hitchcock-style when I walk the dog in the wee hours. they are very protective of their newly-made nests. they have a walk which is somewhat pigeon-like, thrusting their heads out, bodies following. when autumn comes, they’re gone from here.

    • I’m sorry that happened to you, maybe they reacted so because of the dog. I do not have any problems with them. Thanks for sharing Lance! 🙂

    • I always do my best to get the colors of their plumage, otherwise they’d just look like a shadowy image with weird eyes. Thank you Jet! 🙂

  2. I spent some time catching up with your blog today: examining your photographs and reading your words. Such fun. I really like grackles; they visit our yard one in a while but are not regular visitors. Did you have a chance to read my last post “Transforming Moments” in which I wrote about the evening grosbeak? I thought about you when I wrote it and published it. I think you’d like it.

    • Yes, I read it and as well as you get transformed by the presence of natural beauty I do get the same…daily! I love to be cooperating with the birds, I feed them and I photograph them! I’m so glad that you are finding nature glorious beauty. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

