Rainy Days Bring the Blues

The past couple of days we’ve had very strong storms and heavy rain at different times of the day, after having weeks of glorious sunny days.

After the first storm I was delighted to see another bird visiting my backyard, it was a beautiful Blue Jay! It was at least a year that I had not seen on here. This bird has a strong presence with his large size and superb plumage. Very impressive if you ask me, they are shy though, they love to eat peanuts which they swallow like pills.

What a treat for me, it gave me a great chance to photograph this gorgeous bird under excellent gray day, no shadows and perfect light conditions for me.

There are a good number of species coming to the feeders despite the rain. Here I mention some:

  • Blue Jay
  • Red-winged Blackbird
  • Brown-headed Cowbird
  • Song Sparrow
  • European Starling
  • Northern Mockingbird
  • Northern Cardinal
  • Common Grackle
  • House Finch
  • Eastern Towhee
  • Eastern Bluebird
  • Indigo Bunting
  • Mourning Dove
  • Carolina Chickadee
  • Carolina Wren
  • Chipping Sparrow

Photo Gallery


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

19 thoughts on “Rainy Days Bring the Blues

  1. Gorgeous shots of one of my favorites! I hope the storms have passed and the sun is shining once again. From your list it appears that your feeders remain very busy! I wish I could get a towhee to come in closer, but they stay out in the brush here.

    • Thank you so much Amy! The storms are still doing almost daily but after a few hours, the sky opens up and gets to be sunny and hot. The Towhees are very shy of open places, they feel much more secure in the brush… where they nest. 🙂

      • Yes, we used to see them until we took all the brush out of the front for the new landscaping. One of the prices I had to pay, I suppose. We can still hear them out back, so perhaps I will get lucky and see one out there when I’m walking sometime. I will have to be extra quiet and vigilant.

Leave a Reply

