O Sole mio!…La,la!

Sometimes the temperature of a sunny day is a bit too high for some birds, this factor makes them look for the best way to refresh themselves, some go to a shaded place and  some other find the way to find some fresh water! Water will not only refresh them but at the same time, wash up all impurities they might be carrying on their feathers.

I’ve made it into a habit to leave a large dish filled with fresh water for the thirsty birds or like in this case, for any bird that want’s to enjoy a fresh bath.

This female Brown-headed Cowbird was more than happy to jump in the water and shake her tail to full delight! She did it until she was soaked. I was happy to see this bird enjoying one of most simple pleasures in the world: When a hot body gets in contact with fresh water.

At least that’s my opinion about simple pleasures! But of course, I could be wrong. What do you think?


Photo Gallery


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

24 thoughts on “O Sole mio!…La,la!

  1. I find it so much fun to watch a bird bathing with abandon. Loved the joy of this post, HJ. And I always like to watch them afterwards, preening, so your final photo was perfect. 😀 😀

    • In fact, that last shot it goes beyond preening, notice how dark the plumage of the body is (very much like the males) but when it dries turns to a light gray. However, the male’s feathers are iridescent and the female’s are not.
      Thank you my friend! 🙂

  2. The birds certainly love baths here in summer. I get simple pleasure from watching them have such a good time. It was only 2 degrees where I am in Queensland last night and right now I’m enjoying the simple pleasure of lunch in the sun. Great pics. 🙂

  3. There’s something so enjoyable about watching a bird splashing about in the bath! And I always like to watch them preening afterward, as they fluff themselves to dry.

    Oh, by the way H.J., last night I was on Amazon looking at warbler field guides and what should I see but your name and Avian 101 listed on one of the editorial reviews!! I felt like I know someone famous! 🙂

Leave a Reply

