Gotcha!

PLEASE EXCUSE FOR THE BRIEF ABSENCE. I HAD TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES WITH MY SERVER AND MODEM – HJ Ruiz


While I continued my watch on the Eastern Bluebirds, this time I saw the male bluebird going for an earth worm and I was able to photograph a short sequence of the mechanics involving to catch one.

The bluebird was watching from a high point and suddenly dropped himself to the ground a I saw him doing some pecking and then pulling this long worm and flying with it to the top of a feeder’s stand where he proceeded to eat the worm, just like eating spaghetti! I took notice that the male bluebird did not take the worm to the nest.

I didn’t know if he would be regurgitating it later for the chicks later.

Just the fact that a bird can see a worm from afar is mind boggling!. They must have an incredible sense of sight!

Overall, I’m happy that they decided to stay and nest in my backyard this year. Their plumage colors are no doubt attention getters, My neighbors are dying to see at least one bluebird in their backyards. To me, these birds are giving me great opportunities to know more about them and have a good photo archive with my captures.


Photo Gallery


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

26 thoughts on “Gotcha!

  1. Great post, HJ. Where we live it is so dry that we only see the western bluebirds come to the ground to pick up nesting materials or insects. The worm dance you have featured here is delightful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

