What a Mess!

Last Thursday we had a melange of a weather with snow, sleet, rain, ice…and a sunny afternoon! Is this crazy or what?

Schools were closed again, many commercial buildings were closed, many businesses closed early. What a calamity!

The good part was having Tyler at home and having lots of birds outside creating a riot protesting for food!

I had to go out with a scraper and break all the ice formed on the deck’s handrails. I also had to dislodge the clay saucers that where embedded in ice and bring them in to my kitchen sink to thaw them out with hot water. Then went back out and filled the feeders (I could feel hundreds of eyes watching me!). So I ran inside! (They might have tried to eat me alive too!)

So they came in droves and some small fights broke out but were quickly ended because if you waste your time fighting, then you don’t eat! (Bird Philosophy)

But it was really funny how they made such a mess because their haste to eat, just like hungry vultures on a carcass, leftovers of a den of lions in Africa!…Right! I’m exaggerating just a bit.

Seriously, I was really pleased by having these bunch of nice birds getting a decent meal.

I was even a bit surprised when I saw a Common Grackle! (Kind of early for the season) helping out with making the place into a bigger mess! Oy!


Photo Gallery


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

18 thoughts on “What a Mess!

  1. Thanks for sharing. The deep snow in New England seems to have changed our bird patterns this year. Fewer small birds by far. The larger raptors are much easier to find since food is scarce. Looks like the smaller birds have gone to your area. 🙂

  2. Oh how I enjoyed this post, HJ. It is a lot of work to keep the feeders and trays in working order for the demand of the birds. I laughed out loud at the bird philosophy and am still chuckling as I type. Thanks HJ. 😀

  3. What a delightful post. Lovely words and pictures. I would like to have that kind of mess at my place it it means such beautiful birds about.

Leave a Reply

