Snowy Morning

It just happened this morning, we woke up to some snow but not to accumulations that we could boast about. There were School closings and they will be closed tomorrow too because the weather forecast calls for more snowy conditions.

It would be totally ridiculous if we were living in New York or New Jersey, but keep in mind that snow is rare in these parts of Georgia, our Counties do not have snow plows to clean up or sand/salt spreader trucks for the roads or streets. However, even if it snows 1 inch and then the weather  temperature drops suddenly, the snow would freeze and become extremely dangerous! We wouldn’t be able drive over any  icy road.

I was happy though, going out there to my backyard and clean the feeders and refill them with seeds. Immediately after I could see many birds all over the deck and surrounding areas eating. That made me very happy! It allowed me to get some pictures too!


Photo Gallery


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

34 thoughts on “Snowy Morning

  1. A good selection of visitors. Like you, because we don’t get snow often, we are often in difficulties with small amounts of snow because we don’t have a lot of equipment to hand.

    • I though that it was common to get snow where you live. Especially with the amount of rain that you get. I was mistaken about it. Thanks Tom for sharing! 🙂

  2. I’m happy to see your birds eagerly biting into the food on a cold day 🙂 I hope the wet snow doesn’t freeze over so you can be out and about tomorrow.

    • It began to snow again in the late afternoon and I think that will turn into rain. Not a good thing if it freezes overnight. The birds have been munching all day so they should be fine till tomorrow morning. Thanks Tiny! 🙂

  3. Here’s hoping to a return to more normal conditions soon, H.J! At least the snow gave you the opportunity for some different photos! We are supposed to get more snow here in Michigan on Sunday. Spring cannot come soon enough for me!

    • I know that Michigan gets very cold and winters are known to be harsh. I can’t wait to be enjoying Spring! Thank you for sharing Amy! 🙂

  4. Oh those tiny birds surrounded with the white cold snow… They are so strong, don´t you think… Unbelievable and admirable at the same time. Love and all the best to you HJ. Aquileana 😎

  5. As an amateur bird watcher living in country still too cold for birds other than crows and magpies, I was thrilled to see your photographs of birds I recognized; your post reassured me that eventually birds will come to my feeders as well.

Leave a Reply

