Cold Digits

Yesterday morning was one of the coldest morning for the area where I live. Worked on a metal key box combination because I needed some master keys for our Community pool storage rooms and take some measurements and inspect some other things that we may have to replace or add for next Summer. As the president of my HOA I needed to verify some works done previously.

While handling the locks and keys my fingertips were so cold that I was losing sense of touch. Then pain ensued and had to run to the car because I couldn’t feel my fingers anymore. It was many years that I didn’t feel that kind of intense cold. Good thing that I could finish my inspection and took the measurements I needed.

I returned home and I was so relieved of the pain once I warmed up and had a cup of hot coffee.

Being so bitterly cold did not deterred the birds from coming to my feeders, in fact I saw more birds than usual. That’s good!


Photo Gallery


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

24 thoughts on “Cold Digits

    • You have to keep warm or face frostbite. I don’t full around with that, I’ve seen what happens. Not pretty! Thanks Donna! 🙂

  1. I guess that explains why many of you over in your country are attracting so many birds to feeders because of your harsh winter and snow covered grounds etc. I wish we could attract some decent birds into our towns, but the miners and mynas have driven most of them away, leaving only large carnivorous ones. Glad you escaped the agony of frost bite.

    • There is a variety of factors but snow could be one of them. Australia has many bird species too, just spread in a very large territory.
      Thanks for sharing and your kins words Ashley! 🙂

  2. That does sound chilly! I hope some warm weather comes your way soon. It’s a good thing the birds have your free cafe to feast at during such bad conditions. Such pretty birds would put a smile on my day despite the bitter conditions I think. A lovely collection! 🙂

    • Oh yes! I smile all day with them around. Ten years ago I moved 1000 miles south from where I used to live because I got tired of the winter weather. Now I’m being followed by the cold weather! ??? Thanks Jane! 🙂

Leave a Reply

