Gold Rush

When I see American Goldfinch birds coming to my backyard it makes me feel good. It took them  like two years before they came to my backyard feeders. I could always see them in other houses and fields but never in my backyard.

Now they are frequent visitors! Let me tell you I was very surprised to see them here during Winter! Obviously they did not migrate.

These birds are gorgeous when they display their breeding plumage (Spring, Summer) Now is not a good time for breeding, the nestlings would not survive low temperatures.

I can’t wait to have the real nice weather and see all birds flying around showing off their best plumages and looking for their potential mates. Then my backyard gets busy with bird traffic.

I know… be patient and do your best until then!


Photo Gallery


Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

31 thoughts on “Gold Rush

  1. The last two winters here in Maryland have been terrible! Our average high over the last to weeks has been around 28 degrees. The next few days are lows will be sub zero. I am REALLY looking forward to spring this year. 😊

    • I couldn’t be precise on that respect because they just peck on the seeds and it’s hard to see which seeds they ingest. Thanks Lori! 🙂

  2. We enjoy their return to the mountains in summer. And while their flocks are generally small, the mere sight of them, with their sweet song and flashy color, makes me do a happy dance! 😊

  3. I feel the same about the introduced European goldfinch here – lately I’ve had a couple visit my water dish and seed at the side of the house. 🙂 Hoping they stick around.

  4. Goldfinches bring so much cheer! They are like tiny rays of sunshine! I had a thistle feeder and a sunflower feeder side by side and the goldfinches actually eat more sunflower than thistle! A bit of a surprise. 🙂

  5. Yes, they eat sunflower seeds. In fact I have pictures of that effect. These birds are amazingly beautiful! Thank you Amy! 🙂

  6. Great you have Goldfinches. They can be finicky. I used to have a lot more a few years ago – and I haven’t changed anything. I seem to encounter more of them in the “wild” such as it is than I do in the yard. But I also think climate change has something to do with their numbers here and there. I love to hear their calls too. 🙂

    • They are a bit shy and then slowly feel more confident of new places. Just imagine a bird that has those colors stick out their presence to any predators. They are ok though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

