Grief and Disappointment

One thing that I’m not worried about now is the weather. Why is that? It is people what worries me! Just take a look at the news everywhere! TV, Internet, Radio, Magazines, it is so pathetic that we live in such a violent world!


 I’m sorry but I had to say at least a few words. I had said in the past that I would not discuss, Politics, Religion, Cultural Customs or other people’s lives. I’m keeping my word! The four initial blockquote lines of this post was only my reaction to what’s currently happening in our world.


I’ve been taking pictures at different times of the day, mostly when I see a break from the wind blowing or if the sunlight breaks through the gray sky. Many birds are taking shelter in their nests and wait for the right moments to get seeds from the feeders. They have to preserve their body temperature too!

Photo Gallery



Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

33 thoughts on “Grief and Disappointment

  1. I think it is the artist’s nature and challenge to respond to and interpret his or her environment and events that affect him or her personally as well as the bigger picture. I find it frustrating too, to filter out the noise. Just keep putting those good vibes and beautiful pictures and observations out there! Love the Titmouse. 🙂

  2. Hi HJ, you are absolutely right! We are all affected by the negativity and savage, barbaric killings…Yet your beautiful photos of wonderful birds lessen the pain in a way! We are then turning away from this deranged world to the beauties of our one and only Nature! I do thank you 🙂 Best regards, Beth

  3. I totally agree, I refrain from commenting and choose to live in the happy world. Weakness? There is an awful lot of good in humanity. Many of us care passionately about other species and have thoughts about their importance in the world and their importance to us, there are not a lot of other species that are so compassionate. There is also an ugly side that is hard to come to terms with. Mankind is a terrible thing, the worst that has ever trod this planet but it is also the best. I am of the best and so are you. We are a complex species but never give up on us 🙂

    • Thanks so much Colin for your summary of what we are as mankind is concern. I could never give up! You have said wise words that everybody should read! Hang in there my friend! 🙂

  4. I agree with your words H.J. We all need to find a place of inner peace to retreat from discordant energies we neither seek nor want yet are subjected to. You bring beauty and balance back when I see the world through your lens. I feel happy and soothed by such precious imagery. Thank you 🙂

    • Thank you very much Eily for your positive words. We bring balance back through our words and by way of example. Big hug for you! 🙂

  5. See these beautiful little creatures somehow takes the chill off grim happenings in the world that we seem powerless to do anything about. Love the little birds.

  6. It is very difficult to say nothing at times like this especially when we often see that the reactions to evil sometimes cause just as much harm as the original sin. All we can do is to believe in goodness and beauty and to promote understanding between all races and an appreciation of our beautiful world. Which is what you do HJ. Thank-you.

    • You are very kind Clare! Let’s be very positive about anything that we do! Let’s be example for the rest! Thank you my friend! 🙂

  7. Any decent person will feel the same grief and disappointment as yourself, HJ, you are not alone there! However, I don’t actually believe the world is a more violent place than it ever has been in the past. Our perception is altered by the fervour with which almost every major violent act is brought to our attention. In the ‘olden’ days, we’d be blissfully unaware, and certainly wouldn’t have video footage. So, keep positive, most of humanity are decent people.

    I’d dearly love to see a real live cardinal one day! So red, and such a distinctive look. Unless I see one in a zoo, or aviary, I’ll have to venture to the Americas! 🙂

    • I’m not sure about that comparison Christine. We are 70 years from the WWll and we haven’t learned a thing from that horrible experience. It’s like it never happened! One person to die in vain is one too many. Let’s not allow that happen again!
      Thank you! 🙂

  8. I learned the deep meaning of grief and disappointment.

    “The pleasure of remembering had been taken from me, because there was no longer anyone to remember with. It felt like losing your co-remembered meant losing the memory itself, as if the things we’d done were less real and important than they had been hours before.”

  9. Thank you for your wise words and for your lovely pictures. I find comfort in the simple joys of nature and also from the kind people I know (like you) who will always be in the world, despite everything else that goes on. There is always hope and love. Sometimes it can be hard to see when violence is mainly what’s reported by the media.

  10. Most days it’s a relief to turn away from the television screen and focus my attention on the beauty outside my windows. The birds always bring me such a measure of peace and joy, no matter what is taking place in the world beyond. Thank you, H.J. for your daily lovely photographs which give us all blessed respite from the ugliness mankind is too often capable of. I appreciate you and your tender, merciful heart, and your talent, as well.

    • Thank you so much Amy! I feel very fortunate to have wonderful friends such as you, without your friendship and positive feedback I wouldn’t be able to have this blog, because it wouldn’t have a purpose! 🙂

  11. Avian! These birds bring us peace and show us that no matter what we have the ability to get over those tough things … Resilience: that’s the word!~
    Thanks for sharing … Your pics warm up my heart! ❤ Aquileana 😀

    • Thank you very much Aquileana! You’re right we’ll get over those things and we’ll prevail! Your words warm up my heart! 🙂 ❤

  12. It is true also that depression rates rise and low Vitamin D levels pervade during long dark winters, especially when you have little sunlight, which contributes to the crime rate and violence levels. Birding helps normalize our feelings and thoughts, even when it is cold and dark. Your post helps do this my birding friend!

    • Birding or bird photography definitely distracts our minds from al the mundane irregularities and crazy society. We must continue promoting what we are doing for the world sake. Thanks Ashley! 🙂

Leave a Reply

