Bird of the Year

This year 2014 is one day away from finalize and I, as I have done every year, i select which of the birds species qualify to be named as the “Birds of the Year”.

I look at my photo archives, I also recall instances, songs, eating nuts, sneaking around and other antics  that these birds did and came to the conclusion that the best candidates were the Carolina Wren! They have been in my backyard all year round and still are visiting my feeders since they haven’t migrated and stayed. They have nested in the area and are frequently flying around and loudly denoting their presence with their songs and calls. I just hope that they become steady residents for they are welcome in my backyard.

I believe that the Carolina Wren deserve special mention as the “Bird of the Year”



© HJ Ruiz – Avian101

26 thoughts on “Bird of the Year

  1. Love these pictures. Carolina Wrens are very special to me, I only started seeing them at my favorite haunt last year and then this year they seemed to be absent. At least now I know where they go in the winter: to your backyard!

    • Don’t worry about them, I feed them well. They are happy with me! You can always see their pictures if you visit my blog. Is your knee getting better? Did you go to the Dr.? Thanks Lisa! 🙂 Happy New Year!

  2. Dear HJ, honestly all the birds in your blog are ‘birds of the year’….but truly, thank you so much for all the knowledge you have shared with all of us…Thank you with all my heart!! 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Wow! Thank you A. for your kind words. I may share a bit of knowledge but I do share it with love and sincerity. I appreciate every word and sentiment about my work. I treasure those words as my precious rewards. I love your nice work too! 🙂 ❤ +

      • Thank you, HJ!! On this note, let’s begin the New Year with as much love, beauty and sincerity and good wishes…So here’s wishing you a Very Very Happy New Year, and innumerable days of some more great blogging for us to all enjoy and treasure….!!! 🙂 ❤ All good wishes to you and your family, HJ, and may your backyard bloom and be bustling with the presence, notes and tones of your wonderful visitors always!!!

  3. I am glad the Carolina Wren has won your award. I am always pleased to see one in your posts as I think them very endearing little birds. Thank-you, HJ and may you have a very Happy New Year. Clare x

Leave a Reply

