Foggy Focus

The beach in Florida wasn’t as sunny as anyone would have wanted during the time I was on my vacation. The weather temperature fluctuated between cold and warm. There were foggy mornings that did not help my photography of birds. Luckily for me I’m a resourceful photographer and shot my way through the fog fiddling with the camera settings and being persistent about positions of the sun behind the fog. I never gave up on it! There were times that the fog was so dense I couldn’t see my feet.

I had several people strolling the beach asking me about how can I shoot pictures in that kind of weather conditions and they shook their head. Well, I will be posting some of those pictures and you’ll be the judge. It would also be ok if you honestly tell me I was wasting my time.

Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

24 thoughts on “Foggy Focus

    • My point was that people that saw me shooting pictures looked at me as if I was crazy, shooting pictures in the fog! Thanks MD! 🙂

  1. Great photos, HJ! Actually I sometimes prefer cloudy or foggy days because you don’t have to deal with shadows. It is harder to get the camera to focus, but you did a great job. 🙂

  2. These are probably the same people who think high noon on a sunny day is the best light for photography… When we get fog around here I am scrambling out the door with camera in hand! Trust your instincts – your foggy surfer is a super image. 🙂 The birds too.

  3. My feeling is that there is never a bad time to take pictures – who knows what you might see?!? I personally like overcast and even drizzly days – In fact, I just bought myself a modestly priced, very effective rain cover /sleeve for my Canon so I don’t miss out on the Florida winter days when it decides to rain halfway through my walk. 😉

    • That of course is an excellent idea to have a cover for your camera! Thank you very much for sharing great info for everyone! 🙂

  4. I like the fog. It really adds a certain mood to the surfer picture and diffuses the light so you can get the wonderful bird shots. I think I echo some other sentiments above, but I would rather shoot on cloudy or foggy days. Unless I’m shooting at sunrise or sunset, the sun tends to cast too many shadows on my subjects. So, all that to say – you were not wasting your time. 🙂

    • Thanks Jolene, I’ve seen most of your photos in the past and you know your “stuff”. The people that saw me at the beach, had not a tad of notion about cameras or even less about Photography. I of course dismissed those comments, at the same time gave me an opportunity to use these for my post! 🙂

  5. Beautiful photos and you certainly weren’t wasting your time at all! I love the surfer and the lone bird. (I had a passing cyclist scoff at me the other day when I told him – in response to his question – I was photographing bark. No imagination, some people!)

    • Beaches are suddenly the free Gyms for everybody, alters, runners, joggers, boxers, cyclists, dog walkers and curious people as we have annoyingly met. Thanks Christine!

Leave a Reply

