Visitors of the Rain

I’m very glad that a couple of Ruby-throated Hummingbird are back and I got the feeling that are building their nest by the pine trees.

They are the most playful and cheerful couple. They love to play ‘tag’

like children. I’m hoping that they’ll stay until migration time.

I really enjoy seeing them how they observe the other birds from a high branch and once in a while they hover around them.

It wasn’t my only treat to see the hummingbirds because I had a surprise visit of a Gray Catbird that I haven’t seen in long time. This bird is very elusive and is not very social but this time I had him for long time, enough to shot a number of pictures.

It’s a coincidence to have him in a rainy day like the previous visit.

As you can imagine I had my fun moments thanks to the rain!

Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

21 thoughts on “Visitors of the Rain

  1. We have a similar feeder and just love watching this pair of hummingbirds come up to feed! There is a third wheel, a male, who tried to weasel his way into the party. It is so fun watching them interact! Stunning pictures! 🙂

  2. *I* am very glad too, HJ: there is nothing quite as wonderful as those tiny wee birds, wings in virtually incessant movement and brilliant colours turning them into jewelled tops, spinning in the air … or something like. 🙂

    • I see them every time and I’m still amazed by those little creatures! Can’t get enough of them! Thanks M-R! We’re 100% on this one! 🙂

  3. That feeding dispenser is a wonderful idea. Gorgeous little bird with such a long beak. That catbird is looking cautious. It won’t be long and I’ll be able to have a go at guessing your lovely Sunday photos. 😀

Leave a Reply

