Golden Touch

This short story is about a little bird that arrived after a storm. The little bird is a male American Goldfinch. He was just appeared one day and he stayed in my backyard.

We noticed his presence on our deck and as many other birds do too but there’s something different about this goldfinch, he’s doesn’t get spooked when he sees us, he sits around and can spend a long period of time (in bird terms) just looking around. He avoids groups of birds, he doesn’t go to the feeders. Apparently he’s not hurt, he can walk, fly eat, drink, he can see and hear well too! The only difference I see in comparison is the size, he looks smaller than the other individuals of his specie. Is he a dwarf goldfinch? I don’t know.

It’s been a week and he’s there, I believe that he stays under the deck overnight.

We were a bit concerned because the Cooper’s Hawk keeps on coming and we wouldn’t like to see him hurt or…worse.

He waits patiently for all the other birds to finish their frenzy eating at the feeders, then once they are gone he takes over the deck floor and eats every little bit with some help of a Song Sparrow sometimes.

“I think I’m going to hire him to do the clean up of the deck permanently!”

  • I’d like to give him a name, would you help me out with this? 
  • Would you like to suggest a good name for him? Please use the comments box.
  • Once I get a list of names from you, I will post the list of names and you will be able to vote for the most likable one. How about it?

Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

34 thoughts on “Golden Touch

  1. I love your sweet goldfinch story, H.J. and I hope he stays around for a long time! I like Nanette’s suggestion very much, but could also suggest “Hoover” since he cleans up all the spilled seed from your deck. 🙂

  2. Aww great story!
    I think a good name for him would be miracle,because he’s so friendly and small and he kinda lightens up your life like a little miracle.
    Also I’ll try to vote on the name but right now I’m on a library computer so I don’t know if I’ll be able to.

    Cheers!~ 🙂

      • Because (a) it means ‘solitary’, which is not the same as ‘lonely’; and (b) it’s a much nicer word in Spanish than in English !!! 🙂

      • Ok, I’ll added to the list. Thanks M-R! If you see this bird in person you’d love him! It’s a mini-bird. 🙂

Leave a Reply

