Georgia Blues

You may probably remember that not long ago I wrote that a couple of Eastern Bluebirds where in my backyard looking for some real estate (Bird house) to make it a nest of their own!  If you don’t remember is fine. These birds returned and have already began the process of gathering their twigs and other things necessary for a sheltered comfortable nest!
Eastern Bluebirds are no doubt beautiful, I just hope that they are not  any interference to other birds lives.  One thing, they found the bird box clean and cozy, I had cleaned it a while before because it had been used previously.  I  cleared the debris of the old nest and  left it nice and clean for new tenants. I guess this incentive worked!

They are welcome!

I’ve been watching more birds coming for seeds, in fact I’ll be buying more this week.
The list of birds that I’ve photographed lately is:

  • Field Sparrow
  • Song Sparrow
  • Chipping Sparrow
  • White-throated Sparrow
  • Eastern Towhee
  • Eastern Bluebird
  • American Robin
  • American Crow
  • American Goldfinch
  • House Finch
  • House Wren
  • Carolina Chickadee
  • Carolina Wren
  • Brown-headed Cowbird
  • Brown-headed Nuthatch
  • Red-winged Blackbird
  • Northern Cardinal
  • Dark-eyed Junco
  • Mourning Dove
  • Northern Mockingbird

 Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

23 thoughts on “Georgia Blues

      • I buy two kinds of raw peanuts for my birds – I buy in the shell peanuts and the shelled kind. Blue jays LOVE peanuts as do nuthatches, titmice, downy and hairy woodpeckers and red-bellied woodpeckers, just to name a few. I love watching the blue jays with the in-shell peanuts because they will pick one up, then put it down and pick up another, as if searching for the perfect one! I also like watching the black birds with them, they will take them to the bird bath and dip them in the water to make them easier to crack open. I find this fascinating!

  1. I just love blue birds! I know you aren’t a huge fan, but we have never had problems with them going after other birds’ nests/eggs. We have two blue bird houses and our problem has been the sparrows taking them over. Last year I invested in meal worms but could never find a good place to put them where the blue birds could find them. It’s always fun in the summer to watch them swoop into the garden for bugs and such and to play in the sprinkler. Your photos are gorgeous, such lovely color!

    • Thank you Amy, I hope you get better luck next time with the E.Bluebirds vs. Sparrows. Thank you for sharing too! 🙂

    • I am a proud man and account for all that I do. I value respect and honesty. I always think that I’ve lived an interesting life so far. I’ll always strive to improve and when faced with a challenge I’ll tackle it head on. That’s me! How are you M-R? Are you satisfied with your life? 🙂

      • No. Nor with myself. But I was loved for 31 years by the best man who ever lived; so I can’t be as bad as I think.
        It hasn’t been boring, my life, and that’s a fact.
        I just wish I were able to look at myself in the mirror and be happy.
        Too old now, I fear.

Leave a Reply

