Not My Favorite

During the short break of decent temperatures, I saw a couple of Eastern Bluebirds prospecting for a new home, they immediately went to the bird house I installed a couple of years back, it’s a cedar house made especially for Bluebirds. Well, this couple were checking the surroundings and the house interior (see photos).

I don’t know if they’ll decide to occupy the house but I haven’t seen them return. The Eastern Bluebirds are very pretty birds but are not my favorite because they like to raid other birds nests to eat their eggs. I’ve seen them do it in the past and made me feel so disappointed for their behavior, I understand perfectly that it is their nature but even so I don’t like it. I’m not going to deter them from living in my backyard but I’m not so crazy about it.

Text and photographs © HJ Ruiz – Avian101

2 thoughts on “Not My Favorite

  1. Wow I didn’t know that about Bluebirds. I did know there was competition with Tree Swallows for their nestboxes around here at least. You are lucky to have anybody nesting in your yard. I bought boxes years ago but really have no place to put them! Love the Brown-Headed Nuthatch again.

    • I try to be nice to birds, I used to have many small bird houses but I noticed that I had less birds coming to my feeders. The resident birds would turn defensive of their territory! I’ve left two out there for grabs. Thanks for sharing Lisa! 🙂

Leave a Reply

